Equal elemental amount · snapshot 2026-08-10

Magnesium glycerophosphate vs Magnesium taurate

For 200 mg elemental magnesium, magnesium glycerophosphate requires 1,600 mg of compound and magnesium taurate requires 2,242 mg, using the chemistry accompanying the 2026-08-10 label snapshot. This difference follows from the magnesium fraction of each compound. It requires no absorption-study assumption: the same elemental mass travels with a different mass of the rest of the compound.

Show the working

Same elemental amount, different compound mass

At 100, 200 and 400 mg elemental magnesium, the chemistry accompanying the 2026-08-10 snapshot uses 12.50% magnesium by mass for magnesium glycerophosphate and 8.92% for magnesium taurate; dividing the elemental amount by these fractions gives the compound masses below.

Formula, magnesium fraction and compound mass · snapshot context 2026-08-10
PropertyMagnesium glycerophosphateMagnesium taurate
Elemental Mg by compound mass12.50%8.92%
Anhydrous reference formulaMgC₃H₇O₆PMg(C₂H₆NO₃S)₂
Molar mass of that reference formula194.36 g/mol272.58 g/mol
Composition intervalOne formula fraction used for MgC₃H₇O₆P in this model.One formula fraction used for Mg(C₂H₆NO₃S)₂ in this model.
Compound for 100 mg elemental Mg800 mg1,121 mg
Compound for 200 mg elemental Mg1,600 mg2,242 mg
Compound for 400 mg elemental Mg3,200 mg4,484 mg
Size 00 capsules for 100 mg elemental Mg2 capsules at 730 mg compound fill each2 capsules at 730 mg compound fill each
Size 00 capsules for 200 mg elemental Mg3 capsules at 730 mg compound fill each4 capsules at 730 mg compound fill each
Size 00 capsules for 400 mg elemental Mg5 capsules at 730 mg compound fill each7 capsules at 730 mg compound fill each

Molar masses refer to the displayed anhydrous formulas. Hydrated or composition-ambiguous readings use the full fraction interval from the chemistry layer. Compound masses are rounded to whole milligrams; capsule counts round the unrounded mass divided by 730 mg upward at each interval endpoint.

Magnesium glycerophosphate: 200 mg worked example

For 200 mg elemental magnesium as magnesium glycerophosphate, the chemistry accompanying the 2026-08-10 snapshot requires 1,600 mg of compound: 200 ÷ 0.1250, rounded to whole milligrams.

That requires 3 size 00 capsules at 730 mg of compound per capsule, before other ingredients. The model uses the MgC₃H₇O₆P fraction throughout.

Magnesium taurate: 200 mg worked example

For 200 mg elemental magnesium as magnesium taurate, the chemistry accompanying the 2026-08-10 snapshot requires 2,242 mg of compound: 200 ÷ 0.0892, rounded to whole milligrams.

That requires 4 size 00 capsules at 730 mg of compound per capsule, before other ingredients. The model uses the Mg(C₂H₆NO₃S)₂ fraction throughout.

Compound mass reference in 25 mg elemental increments

40 arithmetic inputs from 25 to 1,000 mg elemental magnesium are converted below using the two salt fractions and the capsule capacities accompanying the 2026-08-10 snapshot, calculated 2026-10-17. These are mass-conversion inputs, independent of any consumption schedule.

Each compound interval divides the elemental input by the high and low magnesium fractions. Each capsule interval divides those unrounded compound masses by the listed fill capacity, then rounds upward. The three capsule sizes use 545, 730 and 1100 mg of compound per capsule respectively, before other ingredients.

Magnesium glycerophosphate and Magnesium taurate · 40 elemental inputs · 2026-10-17
Elemental MgMagnesium glycerophosphate: compound massMagnesium glycerophosphate: size 0Magnesium glycerophosphate: size 00Magnesium glycerophosphate: size 000Magnesium taurate: compound massMagnesium taurate: size 0Magnesium taurate: size 00Magnesium taurate: size 000
25 mg elemental Mg200 mg compound1 capsule at 545 mg fill1 capsule at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill280 mg compound1 capsule at 545 mg fill1 capsule at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill
50 mg elemental Mg400 mg compound1 capsule at 545 mg fill1 capsule at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill561 mg compound2 capsules at 545 mg fill1 capsule at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill
75 mg elemental Mg600 mg compound2 capsules at 545 mg fill1 capsule at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill841 mg compound2 capsules at 545 mg fill2 capsules at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill
100 mg elemental Mg800 mg compound2 capsules at 545 mg fill2 capsules at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill1,121 mg compound3 capsules at 545 mg fill2 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill
125 mg elemental Mg1,000 mg compound2 capsules at 545 mg fill2 capsules at 730 mg fill1 capsule at 1100 mg fill1,401 mg compound3 capsules at 545 mg fill2 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill
150 mg elemental Mg1,200 mg compound3 capsules at 545 mg fill2 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill1,682 mg compound4 capsules at 545 mg fill3 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill
175 mg elemental Mg1,400 mg compound3 capsules at 545 mg fill2 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill1,962 mg compound4 capsules at 545 mg fill3 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill
200 mg elemental Mg1,600 mg compound3 capsules at 545 mg fill3 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill2,242 mg compound5 capsules at 545 mg fill4 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill
225 mg elemental Mg1,800 mg compound4 capsules at 545 mg fill3 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill2,522 mg compound5 capsules at 545 mg fill4 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill
250 mg elemental Mg2,000 mg compound4 capsules at 545 mg fill3 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill2,803 mg compound6 capsules at 545 mg fill4 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill
275 mg elemental Mg2,200 mg compound5 capsules at 545 mg fill4 capsules at 730 mg fill2 capsules at 1100 mg fill3,083 mg compound6 capsules at 545 mg fill5 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill
300 mg elemental Mg2,400 mg compound5 capsules at 545 mg fill4 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill3,363 mg compound7 capsules at 545 mg fill5 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill
325 mg elemental Mg2,600 mg compound5 capsules at 545 mg fill4 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill3,643 mg compound7 capsules at 545 mg fill5 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill
350 mg elemental Mg2,800 mg compound6 capsules at 545 mg fill4 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill3,924 mg compound8 capsules at 545 mg fill6 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill
375 mg elemental Mg3,000 mg compound6 capsules at 545 mg fill5 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill4,204 mg compound8 capsules at 545 mg fill6 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill
400 mg elemental Mg3,200 mg compound6 capsules at 545 mg fill5 capsules at 730 mg fill3 capsules at 1100 mg fill4,484 mg compound9 capsules at 545 mg fill7 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill
425 mg elemental Mg3,400 mg compound7 capsules at 545 mg fill5 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill4,765 mg compound9 capsules at 545 mg fill7 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill
450 mg elemental Mg3,600 mg compound7 capsules at 545 mg fill5 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill5,045 mg compound10 capsules at 545 mg fill7 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill
475 mg elemental Mg3,800 mg compound7 capsules at 545 mg fill6 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill5,325 mg compound10 capsules at 545 mg fill8 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill
500 mg elemental Mg4,000 mg compound8 capsules at 545 mg fill6 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill5,605 mg compound11 capsules at 545 mg fill8 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill
525 mg elemental Mg4,200 mg compound8 capsules at 545 mg fill6 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill5,886 mg compound11 capsules at 545 mg fill9 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill
550 mg elemental Mg4,400 mg compound9 capsules at 545 mg fill7 capsules at 730 mg fill4 capsules at 1100 mg fill6,166 mg compound12 capsules at 545 mg fill9 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill
575 mg elemental Mg4,600 mg compound9 capsules at 545 mg fill7 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill6,446 mg compound12 capsules at 545 mg fill9 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill
600 mg elemental Mg4,800 mg compound9 capsules at 545 mg fill7 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill6,726 mg compound13 capsules at 545 mg fill10 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill
625 mg elemental Mg5,000 mg compound10 capsules at 545 mg fill7 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill7,007 mg compound13 capsules at 545 mg fill10 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill
650 mg elemental Mg5,200 mg compound10 capsules at 545 mg fill8 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill7,287 mg compound14 capsules at 545 mg fill10 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill
675 mg elemental Mg5,400 mg compound10 capsules at 545 mg fill8 capsules at 730 mg fill5 capsules at 1100 mg fill7,567 mg compound14 capsules at 545 mg fill11 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill
700 mg elemental Mg5,600 mg compound11 capsules at 545 mg fill8 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill7,848 mg compound15 capsules at 545 mg fill11 capsules at 730 mg fill8 capsules at 1100 mg fill
725 mg elemental Mg5,800 mg compound11 capsules at 545 mg fill8 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill8,128 mg compound15 capsules at 545 mg fill12 capsules at 730 mg fill8 capsules at 1100 mg fill
750 mg elemental Mg6,000 mg compound12 capsules at 545 mg fill9 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill8,408 mg compound16 capsules at 545 mg fill12 capsules at 730 mg fill8 capsules at 1100 mg fill
775 mg elemental Mg6,200 mg compound12 capsules at 545 mg fill9 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill8,688 mg compound16 capsules at 545 mg fill12 capsules at 730 mg fill8 capsules at 1100 mg fill
800 mg elemental Mg6,400 mg compound12 capsules at 545 mg fill9 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill8,969 mg compound17 capsules at 545 mg fill13 capsules at 730 mg fill9 capsules at 1100 mg fill
825 mg elemental Mg6,600 mg compound13 capsules at 545 mg fill10 capsules at 730 mg fill6 capsules at 1100 mg fill9,249 mg compound17 capsules at 545 mg fill13 capsules at 730 mg fill9 capsules at 1100 mg fill
850 mg elemental Mg6,800 mg compound13 capsules at 545 mg fill10 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill9,529 mg compound18 capsules at 545 mg fill14 capsules at 730 mg fill9 capsules at 1100 mg fill
875 mg elemental Mg7,000 mg compound13 capsules at 545 mg fill10 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill9,809 mg compound18 capsules at 545 mg fill14 capsules at 730 mg fill9 capsules at 1100 mg fill
900 mg elemental Mg7,200 mg compound14 capsules at 545 mg fill10 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill10,090 mg compound19 capsules at 545 mg fill14 capsules at 730 mg fill10 capsules at 1100 mg fill
925 mg elemental Mg7,400 mg compound14 capsules at 545 mg fill11 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill10,370 mg compound20 capsules at 545 mg fill15 capsules at 730 mg fill10 capsules at 1100 mg fill
950 mg elemental Mg7,600 mg compound14 capsules at 545 mg fill11 capsules at 730 mg fill7 capsules at 1100 mg fill10,650 mg compound20 capsules at 545 mg fill15 capsules at 730 mg fill10 capsules at 1100 mg fill
975 mg elemental Mg7,800 mg compound15 capsules at 545 mg fill11 capsules at 730 mg fill8 capsules at 1100 mg fill10,930 mg compound21 capsules at 545 mg fill15 capsules at 730 mg fill10 capsules at 1100 mg fill
1000 mg elemental Mg8,000 mg compound15 capsules at 545 mg fill11 capsules at 730 mg fill8 capsules at 1100 mg fill11,211 mg compound21 capsules at 545 mg fill16 capsules at 730 mg fill11 capsules at 1100 mg fill

A whole capsule count describes the minimum number of modelled containers needed to hold compound mass. It does not establish the dimensions, packing density or excipient content of a retail product. The ingredient list and serving statement on each linked record supply the product-specific context.

Declarations against capacity

How each salt's capsule labels distribute

In the 2026-08-10 snapshot, the magnesium glycerophosphate form group has 0 audited capsule labels and the magnesium taurate group has 2; their distributions below use the mass-budget counts stored for each form, at powder density 0.8 g/mL, the top of the usual 0.6–0.8 range.

Capsule mass budgets within each form group · 2026-08-10
Salt groupAll labelsAudited capsulesFits 0/00Needs 000Exceeds 000
Magnesium glycerophosphate00000
Magnesium taurate122020

No US label in the NIH DSLD snapshot 2026-08-10 names magnesium glycerophosphate, so no capsule verdict is counted for it; the compound mass above is pure chemistry.

At 2026-08-10, magnesium taurate has 0 of 2 audited capsule labels at or below 730 mg minimum compound mass per capsule, 2 above 730 mg but at or below 1100 mg, and 0 above 1100 mg. Its other 10 labels have no capsule verdict in this group, either because they are not classified as capsules or because a mass budget is unavailable.

The audit divides a label's elemental amount by its assigned salt fraction and serving-unit count. It uses the highest fraction, hence the smallest required mass. A hydration interval can move a nominally fitting label into a larger size at its high-mass end. A result exceeding 000 means the assigned single salt exceeds this fill model even at the low-mass end.

Form groups include names in extracted primary rows, resolved salts and full-record salt mentions, and can overlap; a capsule verdict requires a single assigned salt matching this group. These are counts of label declarations, with the capsule model allocating the fill to the compound. Inspect individual serving statements and assigned salts in the audit register and the linked form pages.

Literature coverage

Which measurements are attached to these salts?

As of the literature review dated 2026-09-11, the supplied study collection associates 0 publications with magnesium glycerophosphate and 1 with magnesium taurate; the combined list contains 1 unique publications, with shared records printed once.

Study-set membership · reviewed 2026-09-11
SaltPublicationsPublication years
Magnesium glycerophosphate0No studies mapped as of 2026-09-11
Magnesium taurate12019–2019

Membership means that at least one selected salt appears in the study's recorded coverage; it does not mean every paper directly compares this exact pair. In particular, an amino-acid-chelate arm does not establish a chemically defined bisglycinate preparation. Each record below retains its actual design, population, read-out and limits.

Published measurements · peer-reviewed sources

1 published measurements relevant to this pair

The 2026-09-11 literature review links these 1 publications, ordered newest first; study outcomes remain attached to their own experimental conditions.

These entries report what each study measured and on whom. They are not advice, not a ranking, and not a claim about any product on this site. Every reference links to its PubMed record so the original can be read in full.

  1. Timeline (Bioavailability) of Magnesium Compounds in Hours: Which Magnesium Compound Works Best?

    Biological trace element research · 2019 · PMID 29679349

    Design
    Single-dose administration of 400 mg/70 kg magnesium as one of five compounds (magnesium sulfate, magnesium oxide, magnesium acetyl taurate, magnesium citrate, magnesium malate) to Sprague Dawley rats, with a control group, followed by time-dependent tissue and serum sampling.
    What it measured
    Time-dependent magnesium absorption profile (area under the curve) in serum; magnesium tissue penetration and concentration, including brain tissue; behavioral indicators (e.g., anxiety-related behavior) recorded in the animals.
    Limits
    Animal model (Sprague Dawley rats), not humans — extrapolation of pharmacokinetic and behavioral findings to people is not established; single dose only, no chronic-dosing data; per-compound group sample size is not stated in the abstract; behavioral endpoints were measured only in rodents. The tested acetyl taurate is distinct from the unmodified taurate in the chemistry table.

Magnesium taurate: trace the filed inputs

8 of 12 labels mentioning magnesium taurate are shown in brand order from the supplied NIH DSLD records, calculated 2026-10-17. Salt mentions can overlap; only records assigned this single salt enter its capsule audit above.

Filed labels in brand and product order · 8 labels · calculated 2026-10-17
Brand / labelSalt / physical stateFiled servingObserved item price / EC100
BioCare Magnesium TaurateNIH DSLD 309746 · label 2024-06-20Magnesium taurateCapsule1 Capsule(s)146 mg elemental magnesium per servingNo published price matched to barcode 5 033290 183608 as of 2026-10-17.
Cardiovascular Research Magnesium TaurateNIH DSLD 22722 · label 2013-06-25Single salt unresolved as of 2026-10-17Capsule1–2 Capsule(s)125 mg elemental magnesium per serving$25.26 per container; cost per 100 mg not computedObserved 2026-09-11 · provisional (pack size differs: the offer lists 180 units, the label 60; units per serving are not stated in discrete units)
Cardiovascular Research Magnesium TaurateNIH DSLD 22723 · label 2013-06-25Single salt unresolved as of 2026-10-17Capsule1 Capsule(s)125 mg elemental magnesium per serving$32.90 per container; $0.1462 per 100 mgObserved 2026-10-26 · confirmed
Cardiovascular Research Magnesium TaurateNIH DSLD 283438 · label 2023-03-22Single salt unresolved as of 2026-10-17Capsule1 Capsule(s)125 mg elemental magnesium per serving$32.90 per container; $0.1462 per 100 mgObserved 2026-10-26 · confirmed
Cardiovascular Research Magnesium TaurateNIH DSLD 304437 · label 2024-03-22Single salt unresolved as of 2026-10-17Capsule1 Capsule(s)125 mg elemental magnesium per serving$32.90 per container; $0.1462 per 100 mgObserved 2026-10-26 · confirmed
Codeage Liposomal Magnesium Taurate+NIH DSLD 333426 · label 2025-06-25Single salt unresolved as of 2026-10-17Capsule2 Capsule(s)300 mg elemental magnesium per serving$39.99 per container; $0.2222 per 100 mgObserved 2026-11-02 · confirmed
Douglas Laboratories Magnesium Taurate 400NIH DSLD 232184 · label 2020-08-23Magnesium taurateTablet or Pill4 Tablet(s)400 mg elemental magnesium per servingNo published price matched to barcode 3 10539 01274 1 as of 2026-10-17.
KAL Magnesium Taurate +NIH DSLD 322920 · label 2024-11-22Magnesium taurateTablet or Pill2 Tablet(s)400 mg elemental magnesium per serving$24.79 per container; $0.1033 per 100 mgObserved 2026-11-02 · confirmed

Open the salt index and linked records to inspect ingredient lists, the source of the assigned salt and dated gaps in price matching.

Retail observations · after chemistry and evidence

Price observations within each salt

As of 2026-10-17, the published price set contains 0 verified magnesium glycerophosphate matches and 6 verified magnesium taurate matches. Each table below contains one salt and its own sample size; verified medians describe only that salt's verified rows.

EC100 = container price ÷ (declared elemental mg per serving × servings per container ÷ 100). It normalizes the container's elemental amount. The observations use one-time item prices, without coupons or subscriptions and excluding shipping. The tables retain the two salts' page order; sorting operates inside an individual salt table.

Magnesium glycerophosphate: its own retail sample

As of 2026-10-17, magnesium glycerophosphate has 0 verified matches and 0 pending matches in the price set. No verified median is available as of 2026-10-17. Observation dates: No published observations as of 2026-10-17.

0 verified retail matches are published for magnesium glycerophosphate as of 2026-10-17.

There are 0 pending price matches for magnesium glycerophosphate as of 2026-10-17.

Open the magnesium glycerophosphate label group →

Magnesium taurate: its own retail sample

As of 2026-10-17, magnesium taurate has 6 verified matches and 1 pending matches in the price set. Its verified EC100 median is $0.1842 per 100 mg elemental magnesium (n=6); pending matches are excluded from that median. Observation dates: 2026-09-11 to 2026-11-02.

Magnesium taurate · verified observations · reviewed 2026-10-17 · n= 6

Magnesium taurate · verified observations · reviewed 2026-10-17 · n=
Cardiovascular ResearchMagnesium TaurateNIH DSLD · Label 22723125 mg180$32.90Per container · Price observed 2026-10-26, Amazon$0.146222.50 total elemental g/containerVerified
Cardiovascular ResearchMagnesium TaurateNIH DSLD · Label 283438125 mg180$32.90Per container · Price observed 2026-10-26, Amazon$0.146222.50 total elemental g/containerVerified
Cardiovascular ResearchMagnesium TaurateNIH DSLD · Label 304437125 mg60$32.90Per container · Price observed 2026-10-26, Amazon$0.146222.50 total elemental g/containerVerified
KALMagnesium Taurate +NIH DSLD · Label 322920400 mg90$24.79Per container · Price observed 2026-11-02, Amazon$0.103324.00 total elemental g/containerVerified
CodeageLiposomal Magnesium Taurate+NIH DSLD · Label 333426300 mg60$39.99Per container · Price observed 2026-11-02, Amazon$0.222218.00 total elemental g/containerVerified
Natural RhythmMagnesium TaurateNIH DSLD · Label 271261150 mg60$23.95Per container · Price observed 2026-11-02, Amazon$0.26619.00 total elemental g/containerVerified
Magnesium taurate · pending observations · reviewed 2026-10-17 · n= 1

These candidate retail-to-label matches remain separate from verified rows and are not included in verified medians.

Magnesium taurate · pending observations · reviewed 2026-10-17 · n=
Cardiovascular ResearchMagnesium TaurateNIH DSLD · Label 22722125 mg60$25.26Per container · Price observed 2026-09-11, AmazonNot computedpack size differs: the offer lists 180 units, the label 60; units per serving are not stated in discrete unitsPending · provisional

Open the magnesium taurate label group →

To reproduce a container calculation, use the elemental cost calculator and its static mass tables. The magnesium collection abstract connects each salt group to the label corpus; the literature collection puts the cited measurements in their broader study context.